US Tourist Visa

traveller123

US Tourist Visa

Post by traveller123 »

I am a UK national resident in Thailand with my Thai partner.
We have a registered UK Civil Partnership (November 2011).
We plan to visit my daughter in California in January for a little over 2 weeks.
She is a naturalised American citizen, married with 2 children.
My partner has had 5 UK and 2 Schengen visas without problems.
I have read on the internet that it is more difficult to obtain US tourist visas than European visas.
Any advice from members on how to successfully apply for a tourist visa would be welcome.
Undaunted

Re: US Tourist Visa

Post by Undaunted »

traveller123 wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:55 am Any advice from members on how to successfully apply for a tourist visa would be welcome.
Your partner needs to show that he has reason to return to Thailand......Owns property in his name/has real money in a Thai bank acct. letter from his employer stating he is on holiday and will return to work on such and such date.....even after doing all this you will need a fair bit of luck!
"In the land of the blind the one eyed man is king"
Gaybutton

Re: US Tourist Visa

Post by Gaybutton »

As for money, it will have to have been in his bank account for a substantial period of time, although I don't know precisely how long. That is to prevent a farang boyfriend from putting money in his account to make it look as if he has a lot of money.

He also needs more than merely a reason to return to Thailand. He needs what the embassy will consider to be a 'compelling' reason to return.